The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is discussed whether the most crucial objective of conducting scientific research is to enhance human beings’ lives. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea that people’s lives should be the top priority of science due to its impacts on people's physical and mental healthcare.

Firstly, the reason why scientists should prioritise human being’s lives is its effect on people’s physical health. It is undeniable that in this modern era, there are many state-of-the-art technologies created in order to improve mankind’s needs. Therefore, scientists can take advantage of this new equipment to study and find out solutions for diseases that happened in the past, but currently still do not have any medicines. Furthermore, with the sharp development of our planet, many serious symptoms or epidemics are waiting to destroy the world’s health. It is the science that can be used to seek vaccines to prevent the spread of these dangerous pandemics. The COVID-19 pandemic, for instance, which appeared from 2019 to the beginning of 2021 had caused bad damage to the whole world and many people passed away during this period. If there had not been any vaccines created, the world would have witnessed more deaths than ever before.

Secondly, science plays a vital role in public management as it helps the government enhance its residents’s spiritual lives. Understanding citizens’ psychology and behaviour in the community is a good way for governments to search for appropriate solutions to administrate them. Not only that, science can also find out what residents are actually desiring to satisfy their needs when using public services, such as e-government by examining their trust and satisfaction levels. Take digital government as an example. When deploying this useful service to the local people, the state needs to understand how their people know about this system and at what age they will utilize this service the most. The answers to these considerations may be solved when conducting surveys and analyzing related data. However, the governments seem to be too busy to conduct themselves. Hence, they can have scientists help them to do the surveys.

In summary, I fully stand on the side of the statement science should take human lives as the top objective due to its benefits, including impacts on healthcare and mental lives.