An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no rose without a thorn. Similarly, technology comes with both benefits and disadvantages. For example – cars make our life more convenient, but it adds pollution to the air. Computers can indeed do massive calculations within fractions of a second; however, it makes the human mind lethargic.

A picture is worth a thousand words. As proved, visual learning is more effective than traditional education. Nowadays, we can quickly learn and understand the concepts using videos. Platforms like Coursera, Edx, and Pluralsight provide thousands of free courses taught by people from all over the world to learn different technologies. Today, it is so easy to connect, share documents, and ask questions from anyone across the globe. Sites like LinkedIn, Jobhunt, and Indeed help students to get placed in companies globally. The scholarly section of Google is one of the best places to find earlier research papers and do researches.

However, sometimes, students do not utilize the Internet for their benefits. Instead of learning, they waste hours chatting and watching movies. Sites like Facebook, YouTube, and Voot can be a source of distraction. Students quickly get addicted to online games. Moreover, all the data on the Internet is not always accurate, which can create chaos among the public.

Replacing books in schools is not a good idea as they contain correct and to the point data which are necessary for the given subject, and there is no way that a student can get distracted from it. Besides, not every place has an internet facility, so computers and tablets will be useless. Although examinations cannot define a student's intelligence, yet they are necessary on their part, as they provide a quantitative report of student progress.

In brief, instead of replacing traditional ways of teaching, technology should complement the training. With proper management and restriction, technology can enhance learning.