An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

We live in a fast-paced technological world where a new electronic product is launched every day. As a result of this, it is quite natural for the schools to provide tablets and laptops for their students as a replacement for the traditional printed materials like books and assignments. There are several pros and cons associated with this practice which will be clearly stated and explained in this essay.

Replacing printed materials with electronic goods has several positive effects. Firstly, this would help in saving enormous amounts of paper which further results in saving trees. Climate change and global warming are alarming issues of the 21st century. Stemming the number of trees that are being cut can help in ameliorating the current situation. Moreover, landslides that occur due to chopping trees can also be prevented. This surely has a positive impact on the environment. Secondly, this practice of using tablets and laptops instead of printing materials will reduce the burden on kids of carrying a number of books to school. For instance, a survey conducted in one of the schools in Bangalore revealed that the kids find it tedious to carry separate books for different subjects as it increases their bag's weight. This has a negative impact on their health and it causes back pain issues in kids. Hence, it is more comfortable to carry tablets and laptops which weigh almost half of the book bundles. Furthermore, using laptops and tablets would help kids to acclimatize themselves to trending technologies.

On the other hand, using tablets and laptops for educational purposes can also introduce the kids to the world on social media and might also expose them to the unwanted dark side of the internet. This not only has a negative impact on the children's minds but also corrupts their innocence. For example, a 10-year-old kid might encounter a website that contains adult content and might end up visiting it out of curiosity. He/she might also create a social media account and might end up becoming a cybercrime victim by befriending strangers online.

While replacing traditional materials with tablets and laptops might seem like a good idea, there are several disadvantages associated with it which should be examined thoroughly.