Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child's later academic achievements?

Child prodigies who start to read at a very young age are known to have good performance records later at their school. Where early reading reduces the extra stress during your school days, it is not the only factor influencing a child's academic performance. There are factors like academic environment, the kind of school and an added interest to study which affect a child's achievements.

Children who know to read even before getting admitted to a school tend to perform better than the ones who do not know how to read as there is not much time squandered in teaching basics of a language like the alphabets, numbers and sentence correlation. This also improves brain power. This also reduces the stress on the teachers to teach the kids to read and also helps them in focusing on other significant topics which benefits the kids at a later stage of their lives. For instance, in Japanese preschools, 2 year old kids are taught alphabets and numbers. As a result of this, kids tend to grasp and learn things at a faster pace in their primary school and gain better scores on the tests. Hence, early reading skills play a significant role in a child's academic performance.

While developing reading skills at an early age is considered to be the most important factor in improving a kid's academic record, there are several other factors to consider. Firstly, the academic environment in the house plays a major role in this domain. If the kid's parents encourage it to pursue studies diligently and feed its mind with information, it is highly possible that the kid might show some amount of inclination towards studying and might end up securing good grades later in school. Secondly, the type of school and its academic ranking also play a significant role. If the school is more academic oriented, then the kids would develop better skills which would help them secure good marks in the future. For example, I have a cousin who's parents are academic oriented and that environment had a positive impact on their grades. Therefore, these various skills do play an important role in deciding the child's later academic achievements.

In a nutshell, it is important for the parents to help their kids read at an early age and also provide them with a good academic environment to ensure that their kids secure good grades in future.