Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems

To what extend do you agree or disagree

What other measures do you think might be effective

In the context of a growing population all over the world, traffic and pollution issues have been becoming more serious than ever before. Some people believe that a rise in fuel price would be effective in dealing with these problems, however, I think that more solutions such as using clean fuel and enforcing strict punishment need to be considered in addition to a simple increase in the petrol price.

Although due to the high price of fuel, citizens might tend to switch from private cars to public transports that reduces the number of vehicles on the roads, it is unlikely to limit the number of drivers for long. Moreover, if the petrol price was increased, it would lead to higher service fees. For instance, when there is a rise in transportation fees, the seller will increase the price of products and these decisions might influence the whole economy.

One of the potential measures to tackle these problems is developing clean fuel, which is environmentally friendly. Toxic emission from vehicles is one of the main reasons causing health problems, especially respiratory disease and global warming. And clean fuel is effective in significantly reduce the dangerous emission levels. Besides, alternative fuel not only improves air quality but also is a long-term solution to deal with the root of pollution.

In the short-term, it is recommended that the government implement strict punishment. First of all, to avoid the negative consequences of growing traffic such as accidents and congestion, penalties can act as a deterrent to encourage people to drive safely. These punishments might include small fines, license suspension, driver awareness courses, and even prison sentences. Also, environmental regulation should be tightened to save the environment by preventing produce and emit waste as well as discharge industrial waste illegally.

In conclusion, traffic and environment problems are threatening human life and global existence, therefore, everyone must join hands to resolve these issues to protect themselves and their children at the present and in the future.