Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures are required that can be effective?

There is not even an iota of doubt that with the ever-expanding need of people to travel from one place to another, be it for work or recreation has led to traffic congestion even in conurbations, furthering to disastrous air pollution. Therefore, many a people support the idea that by hiking fuel prices, individuals would consider travelling less, which would aid in decreasing this menace. However, I do not accord on it, since it would not be possible by every nation. According to my school of thought, improving public transport and incentivizing electric vehicles is more beneficial.

To initiate with the argument of a certain echelon of the society whose core belief is that raising fuel costs, would decrease the problem of growing traffic in the cities. This is because should the cost of natural gases increase, then people would deter from frequent travel. For example, Finland in 2017, imposed exuberant amounts of taxes on fuel which led to a decrease in their road traffic to about 15%; however, it did not affect the wealthy. Therefore, hiking the prices of combustible materials used for travelling would not be enough as it would only impact a few financially unfortunate people

While certainly hiking fuel prices is an option, there are far better methods to curb this problem. Primarily, increasing transport hubs within a city would be beneficial. To be precise, public transport had better be accessible to the common man within minutes of his home and at a very reasonable price. India for instance, in New Delhi made public transport for women free of cost, which helped them reduce private transport, after which Delhi saw a clearer sky. Moreover, the more the governments of countries start providing incentives to the people who use electric cars, the more people will be agreeing to support the cause.

To reiterate, even though raising prices of fossil fuels such as petrol or diesel to curb the problem of traffic congestion and air pollution is a viable idea. However, I believe that a wider approach such as towards public transport and hybrid cars would be far more beneficial.