In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

There is no gainsaying the fact that many a person nowadays is not only living all by himself or with his immediate family, but also avoiding joint family households. The culture of the past which is staying with extended families is becoming rarer, whereas, staying alone and maintaining a nuclear family is propelling, the reasons for this being: the need to migrate for a better job prospect and easy upbringing of a nuclear family.

To initiate with the positive effects of this modern way of life. People find it easier to travel for a better job, rather than scourging for jobs where they live. To be precise, should they travel and search for a better job, they do not have to settle for what they get in their city. For example, according to a survey conducted by the Indian Census in 2012, 32% individuals chose to leave their families and travel just on the pretense of finding a job. Second to this is the fact that with the ever-increasing prices and stagnant incomes it is immensely difficult for an individual to survive in a joint family. For instance, according to a news article published by The Hindu, the average cost of maintaining a joint family has spiked by about 11%; however, the average growth in income has increased by a mere 2%. Therefore, in today’s world it is better to stay as a nuclear family. It does not go without saying that there are a few minor drawbacks to it.

Having said that there are a few negative aspects to staying alone which are first and foremost, single living can make a person lonely and depressed which would not be possible if he were to stay in a joint family. This is because in a large family if not for younger people the grey haired are always available to comfort in the time of need. In other words, the more an individual has human interaction, the more psychologically fit he will be. Moreover, Staying in joint families may keep a person happy mentally but the physical part of it, which is sacrifice, still remains. For instance, in a joint family one can not be flexible with time and money as it needs to be shared accordingly.

To reiterate, even though living alone or in a nuclear family might be straining one’s mental health, this can be dealt with, as one had better cater a little chunk of his time towards staying connected with his relatives. As is evident that minimalism is the new positive trend.