Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, the consumption of petroleum has increased and then it caused two main serious problems that we are struggling to sort out. Some argue that the increased cost of gas is the best approach to solve these problems. However, I think that I partly agree with this statement and therefore I will suggest other solutions.

To start with, it is true that a rising price of oil can diminish in part the air pollution and traffic jam because many might not be able to afford that. They would be likely to try to save the energy and use the public transit instead of their private cars. As a result, fewer private vehicles would make less traffic jam and also cut down the emission of methane from commuting or traveling which will improve the air quality. On the contrast, going up the coast of petrol will threaten people's livelihood such as truck driver or taxi driver.

What other modes can be replace? In my opinion, there are two alternative solutions to settle this issue. Firstly, government should develop the alternative energy instead of fuel energy such as solar power, wind power and hydropower in order to be utilized in vehicles and factories. These substitutive resources will help to decrease harmful effects of air which are Co2 and methane. Secondly, the public transportation should be improved. If this system is doing well without using private vehicles, people will be willing to use the public transit to commute or go on a trip. Because of these reasons, that is why I believe.

To put in a nutshell, rising the cost of petrol is not effective way to resolve growing traffic and pollution problems. But there are alternative methods to sort out these troubles which are to develop substituted energy and the public transit.