Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs(for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to young children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is true that some people think that high school programs should involve the community service without payment. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement.

To start with, in Korea, almost classes are focused on getting high score for Korean SAT. The schools and teachers give more attention to go to the universities which have good reputation than others; students have good personalities. If the school has a community service which are tutoring, volunteering for community, and improving the neighborhood, there are two main benefits. First of all, students will have a good experience for improving their thoughts and personalities and moreover learn about society skills with community service. It can be a good ethic class. As a result, they might be able to put themselves in other's shoes and then their attitude will change to be considerable and thoughtful.

Furthermore, this program will help to find their talent and have a pre-training in their future field which they want to be. In addition, this experience will be able to be an expert early because they already have similar situation. For example, if one of students wants to be a historical teacher, he or she can give a class to youth as a tutoring. The student can have an opportunity about teaching skill though this class during the high school period and also he or she is able to figure out their strengths and weaknesses. This experience cause to be a good teacher.

To put in a nutshell, some argue that volunteering should be a one of high school programs compulsory to students. In my view, this idea is a good way to high school students to recognize their talent and have great personalities.