Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is a common belief that the price of gasoline, which is the main source of car energy, should be increased in order to solve the current problems, such as traffic jams and pollution. However, from my perspective, this advice may be true in some part and there are other more effective ways to be introduced.

It is true that higher price of gasoline can inhibit the increasing traffic and pollution. Normally, drivers drive their private cars more often in that the cost of driving is negligible, compared with the convenience that private cars bring. If the price of gasoline is considerably high, the expense of driving is no longer minute. Accordingly, people may choose to drive less, which can reduce the traffic congestion and air pollution for fewer cars on the road mean less car exhaust in the air. However, exorbitant price of petrol may disorder the economy. Once the price is outrageous, chances are that the number of drivers will decline, which may frustrate the relevant industries, such as car production and sale.

In order to address the traffic and environment issues, from my point of view, other effective ways should be employed. For one thing, the government ought to encourage the public to take public transportation by building more public transport systems. Considering the special lines, such as subway routes, passengers may not come across traffic congestion during rush hours. For another, the government is supposed to exploit new and clean energy for car vehicles. Due to less emission produced by the environmentally-friendly energy resources, like solar power, there will be little environmental contamination from cars.

To conclude, by virtue of the disadvantages and advantages of gasoline price growing, public transportation and clean energy should be put into use, possessing the strengths of reducing traffic jams and pollution and maintaining the stability of a nation’s economy.