Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, people don’t have time for their families. A few groups believe that individuals should go back to the past and more cultural values of respect for the family and the inhabitants in order to make a better universe to live in. I completely agree with this notion.

To begin with, nowadays, people are extremely busy in earning money and they have greed of earning more money in order to become richer than others in their community. Subsequently, the valuation of the word “respect” is going down and down gradually. For instance, Children behaving rudely with elder people in society. Besides, in a number of Western countries fathers are only able to meet their children on holidays or on special occasions otherwise they go to work early in the morning while children are sleeping or when they come from office children may sleep. Thus, it affects indirectly children’s overall growth.

Furthermore, in the past, people spend time with their loved ones every day but in the present individuals don’t have enough time as their selfishness doesn’t allow them to do that. For example, in the older tradition, people spend time together by eating together, by sitting together, by solving problems together if any. In contrast, children don’t value their parents nowadays, so that, they send their parents to old-age homes or treated them badly at home.

In conclusion, personally, I think that, it can be seen as advantageous if individuals go back to their older culture and learn some moral ethics and traditional values along with earning plenty of money.