Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society.

Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live.

Discuss these points of view and come to your own conclusion

In this modern era where most successful people are relatively at a young age. As a result, their ambition tends to hunger for wealth. While some people argue that materialism and egoism in person are the basis of modern civilizations, others tend to believe that modern citizens must learn a lesson from older citizens in order to create a better world to live in. This essay will discuss the debate and put forward a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support modern civilizations tend to hunger for wealth and egoism, might argue that this is a normal condition to live in 21th-century. Because having a good life in the 21st-century era tends to be a high cost of living. Examples can be seen in many successful people right now who are relatively at a young age, which means young citizens tend to have a high ambition, and they are hungry of wealth and egocentrism. However, younger citizens seem to be inexperienced rather than older generations. On that account, at some point younger citizens might need support from the elderly.

On the other hand, opponents of materialism and egoism are the basis of modern civilizations, believe that the young generations must return to the older and learn a lesson about their ancestors'. In this case, the elderly citizens are wiser than young people, because they have a lot of experience and know how to act in local communities.

Overall, I would tend to side with the opponents of young citizens who must learn a lesson about their ancestors’ value to create a better world to live in.