Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The occurence of fast-growing population and the advancement of technology in this modern world greatly affects the environment both in good and bad ways. In my opinion, aside from the government and large companies, each person also plays a vital role in helping to improve the environment.

The national governing body holds the greatest authority to implement ways in protecting the environment by means of laws and regulations for its people to abide. These includes laws in prohibiting illegal logging and mining to prevent severe deforestation and devastating floods in the future. Another way is the eradication of old vehicles that emit more carbon monoxide, consequently, lessening the problem in air pollution. Large companies, on the other hand, can help by practicing proper waste management such as in major factories, hotel chains, shopping malls and resorts.

Every individual, in their own simple ways can contribute to the betterment of the environment. First, this can be accomplished by starting in their own homes, where they can build a small garden to plant vegetables and trees, which in turn, may help produce more oxygen and reduce heat in the surroundings. Second, by practicing proper garbage disposal and recycling, thus reducing the waste being produced in their community. Lastly, some people reuse water from laundry and washing dishes to clean their cars and even water their plants, thus conserving water.

In conclusion, the government, large companies and even individuals are capable of making a difference in improving the environment. Everybody should work hand-in-hand to ensure a livable world for the future generations.