Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is assumed that states and big corporations are the only factors that can foster a better environmental condition. However, I suppose that individuals can also join hands and I will prove this in the essay below.

Firstly, it is certainly true that governments, organisations and companies have ability to preserve the environment because they are stakeholders that can influence a vast majority of people due to their political power. For instance, citizens have to abide by governments' implemented laws and policies as social contract. As a consequence, states are able to reinforce people by bringing in environment laws as well as punishments for bad behaviors. Big groups and organisations such as NGOs and IGOs also can affect awareness of various group of people.

Secondly, governments, organisations and corporations are economically potential to improve the environment. Governments spend a certain amount of budget to organise annual social activities to raise awareness of residents. Besides, companies and organisations that desire to advertise their images or attract advocaters launch environmentally friendly campaigne, invest in mass media propaganda in respond to governments; actions.

On the other hands, I do believe that without individuals as micro factors, those campaigne and fundraising activities from governments and organisations cannot work. Apparently, raising individuals' awareness is the priority goal and key factor of the governments and organisations' campaigne and propaganda when conveying messages. As individuals are aware of environmental issues, they take actions to improve the situations, step by step, they save energy, reduce household wastes, etc. Individuals are able to launch movements to protect wild animals, participate in the process of lawmaking for an upgrade environmental laws.

In conclusion, I reckon that individuals not only take steps to protect the environment on their own but they are also the key factors leading to the success of governments and organisations' actions.