Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the environment can’t be improved by mere individuals or laymen. However, others believe that each person can play a role in aiding the environment. I, like the latter set of people, believe that changes can be brought about regardless of the role one plays in society.

In my opinion, this is a small world - where a mere banana peel thrown on the ground and not properly disposed could cause someone to slip and fall, and maybe even endure a serious injury; where a simple ripple could raise the tide. Human beings are complex beings, whose psyches are molded by the people and the environment around them. If one person were to start clearing his/her own surroundings, if one individual were to start raising awareness in even their own vicinity, if one mere layman were to go out of their way, break out of their robotic routines and give back to this planet what he/she takes away from it countless times within a second, this planet would be a different place, it would be better, and it would provide for their kids and grandkids, and who knows how many generations more.

Someone who held the opposing view would say that we don’t have the resources needed to improve the environment, that we can’t go around planting trees on a government-owned land, but I believe that the Butterfly Effect exists. If those who are more fortunate, financially, than others were to plant trees in their private properties, if those who are less financially-stable were to stop abusing plastic products, if people were to being more considerate towards the wastage of water, if they were to raise their voices, if they were to switch to solar energy at least partially if not completely, environment could be improved by individuals. Even the largest of avalanches are triggered by small actions.