Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental protection is one of the most heavily debated topic worldwide. Because of increasing population, industrialization and many other factors, our environment is in grave danger. Some believe that without the government and large companies, people can do nothing to improve the environment. In my opinion, I disagree. I believe both parties should be equally involved to make a difference.

To better understand we need to understand what is endangering our environment. Some of the common causes include increasing population hence increasing the demand of houses to be built hence cutting down forests and trees. Also increasing industrialization means more factories thus releasing greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Similarly more dependence on cars also increases air pollution levels. There is also a tremendous increase in the amount of plastic waste which end up in ocean waters hence endangering marine life.

So, to be able to combat such a large scale problem, all means should be used. Individually people can start by making small changes in their daily life activities which overtime can lead to a big change in the environment. For example, reducing the use of plastic materials or planting trees and plants around their homes. Also making sure to dispose off plastic items into recycle bins if available. People can also educate their neighbors and friends about environmental problems and its importance.

On the other hand, government and large companies must play their roles as well. By setting strict regulations on factories and car companies about gas emissions, funding education projects for the public, providing recycle bins around the cities and monitoring them regularly.

In conclusion, to bring a change in environment both people and governments plus large companies need to go hand in hand. Only then can we expect a real and long-lasting improvement.