Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The society is now facing the effects of global warming brought about by modernization which mainly affects the environment. Some are of the view that common people do not have the influence to act upon this issue and that it should be the government and large industries who can intervene. As for me, I predominantly agree that with the help of these sectors, certain measures may effectively reduce this environmental problem.

It is true that change should come from the people as they are the first ones who are affected by the environmental change. Most of the problems arise because of human actions such as deforestation by farmers, improper waste management by the homeowners and fuel excess from transport vehicles. All of these can lead to the ongoing problem with pollution which can significantly increase the temperature of the world.

However, global awareness cannot be achieved without the intervention coming from the world leaders and business owners who are advocates in climate change. They can greatly influence the general public to initiate certain actions leading a positive outcome. Recently, the clean-up drive for the Pasig River of the Philippines which started ten years ago by both the local and non-government organization have been concluded. As a result, people were able to enjoy the true beauty of this area.

Furthermore, the government should institute policies and programs that supports environmental preservation. This does not only remedy the current problem within the surroundings in the community but also save the future generations from the long-term effects of global warming. As an effect to this, the citizens today are assured that their children can have a safe place to live in the future.

By and large, globalization has brought about drastic changes which affect the environment and individuals should start saving the world. However, I am of the opinion that the initiative by the government and private sectors make may bring about success in environmental preservation.