Individuals can do nothing to improve our environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of people who express concern regarding environmental protection. It is a controversial issue that individuals do not play any role in this process and just only governments and large companies can do differences. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this opinion for the following reasons:

Firstly, all the policies of the government will show no effect without the cooperation of residents. Today, it is obvious that citizens have an essential influence on the decisions of the government. Although the policies could stem from positive motivation, it would fail if the government does not have the support from the public.

Secondly, all the actions of everyone could have a big impact on environmental protection because human is the key factor in this process. To illustrate, if every individual can make an effort to save energy, natural resources as well as decrease the garbage and so on, our earth will be more green and beautiful.

It is not to say that the role of governments and large companies are not necessary. With the power they have, they can set up the international standards of environmental protection or enact laws in order to not only encourage low-carbon economy but also encourage using renewable energies such as wind, hydro and solar energies.

In conclusion, both individuals and governments, companies play an indispensable role in improving our environment. In order to have the best effect, the governments and companies should give priority to raise the public's awareness about environmental protection.