Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

It is clear that information technology plays a vital part of human life. Nowadays, the general population spends a lot of time for it. By contrast, it may be having a detrimental problem on others. There are a range of various pros and cons with regard to this phenomenon, which I will discuss now.

One of the undisputed advantages of information technology is we can use it to tackle our job easily. For example, we are officers and we need the support of Google, Excel or Word. Another positive aspect is that we feel comfortable broadening our social circle in over the world and do not worried about distance. Furthermore, the social network is a beneficial way to seek information on different topics and it can be incredibly time-consuming.

On the other hand, there are several pitfalls of using the Internet. We are just focused on these websites and ignore their health. This is because we take many times to put attention to it and we do not care about taking regular exercises or go to periodic health examinations. Moreover, we become selfish persons because we no longer focus on being with family and lose interactions in real life. For instance, it can not be denied that most adolescents prefer chatting on the social network than having face-to-face conversations.

To sum up, I think there are arguments for and against the idea of using the Internet on a daily basis. The important thing is to be aware of these issues and use them sensibly for technologies such as: smartphones, laptops or computers.