Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern day, the trend of developing technology in either urban areas or underprivileged regions has helped citizens to improve their well-being. Although the technological tendency has many drawbacks, it still does more good than harm.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of technological products in some ways. Firstly, it is undeniable that people are more likely to suffer from physical issues due to daily using such modern technological devices as laptops or cellphones. For example, people who are over-reliant on using cellphones may not only get a risk of radiation but also possess weaken eye-sights because of blue waves. Secondly, it is attributable to the fact that video games have emerged as indoor activities to let one’s hair down after a stressful day at work or study, but it may render various positive effects if people spend an excessive amount of time in this kind of recreational activities. For instance, children at the school ages should less reliant on video games because it may act as the main factor to lead to a decrease in educational achievements and a rise in the rate of obesity and a shortage of social skills.

On the other hand, technological developments bring about broad-based benefits to a whole host of aspects of human lives. In fact, electronic media has replaced printed newspapers in a wide range of remote areas due to the appearance of the Internet, it plays a vital role for numerous country folks to update information faster than before. Especially, farmers have a reliable source of information to make use of modern cultivation methods in order to improve their productivity which takes steps to poverty alleviation. In addition, such modern technology as a computer connecting the internet would be act as an innovative methodology to tailor teaching styles. For instance, students in remote areas have opportunities to approach a great deal of information on online platforms, which are free of charge or require a small fee.

In conclusion, due to broad-based benefit from information technology, I personally believe that the upside of technological development offsets its downside.