Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. Do the advantages of information technology outweigh the drawbacks?

Computerised technology has become an integral part of our life and we have become increasingly dependent on technological devices. While there are advantages and disadvantages to this topic, I believe the positive aspects of technology take precedence over the drawbacks.

The main advantage of technological innovations is that it has allowed people to interact across geographic barriers and it has become a time-efficient and economical way of communication. For example, people can now connect virtually with their friends and family who live in other parts of the world through apps such as Facebook and Skype. In addition, before the advent of technology, accomplishing school projects or tasks used to be hectic, tedious and time-consuming. However, technological advances can aid students in performing their assignments and dissertations. To illustrate, students in the past had to browse several books at the library before reaching a certain answer or idea, whereas now students can enter the world wide web at any place or time and acquire the information they need instantaneously.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages when it comes to modern technology. Firstly, people have now opted for a more sedentary lifestyle. For instance, instead of going outside, playing until dusk and exploring nature, most of today’s youth would rather stay inside and play the latest video game or watch their favourite show on the internet. Furthermore, electronic devices are known to be highly addictive and can have a negative impact on a child’s development. In other words, technology can lead to the loss of cognitive functions in children, and hence they will lack communication and social skills and be intimidated by social events.

I would therefore argue that although there are disadvantages regarding computerised technology, there are a plethora of advantages that outweigh the negative aspects. It facilitates worldwide communication and assists students in their tasks.