Water pollution has become an increasing problem over the past few decades.

What causes water pollution?

How can we prevent this problem?

During recent decades, water contamination has become a major problem and one that is challenging to rectify. This is mainly because of human activities and industrial waste. This essay will analyse the causes and potential remedies for this issue.

Probably the main factor is toxic emissions from industrial factories, human activities and different means of transportation. In other words, emissions contain pollutant particles that can contaminate water run-off and thus enter the water cycle by transferring through the water table into aquifers. In addition, human activities that generate domestic sewage and toxic waste can also cause water pollution by contaminating water with disease-causing microorganisms and poisonous substances. As a result, the water table becomes tainted and unusable for a variety of activities. This can be exacerbated by logging resulting in soil erosion, where soil, pesticides and fertilisers are washed into streams and waterways. Therefore, sedimentation and pollution will disrupt freshwater and marine habitats. Another contributing factor is the deliberate or accidental dumping of waste products outside controlled landfills or waste processing centres. To exemplify this, when waste including synthetic textiles and tyres are disposed of in random areas, microplastics are produced and are able to enter water supplies through the ground and often undetected. Consequently, the reduced size of microplastic waste makes it easier to reach water and amass noxious wastes, hence reducing the quality of water.

Regarding potential solutions, probably the main remedy would be to install a wastewater treatment plant that aims to remove as many suspended solids as possible from wastewater before being discharged back into the environment. One piece of evidence for this is that Switzerland is known to have the cleanest tap water in the world because of its advanced water treatment system. Another solution is recycling, where people reduce the total mass of waste they produce. If innovative ways of recycling are introduced into the public recycling program, then people will be encouraged to recycle and reduce waste output. The best example that shows the benefits of recycling is Germany, where it has been able to reduce its total waste by 1 million tons every year. Therefore, both the government and individuals can take initiative in resolving such an issue.

In conclusion, human activities and industrial establishments have contributed to the rise of water contamination. However, various measures can be taken by the government and the public to reduce waste and toxic substances which can harm the water and marine animals.