It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has negative effects on peoples health. Therefore, some believe that governments should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think it is the responsibility of an individual to control their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The consumption of sugary products is known to be the leading cause of obesity and diabetes worldwide. While some people assert that it is solely the government’s responsibility to regulate their consumption, others argue that it’s the duty of society and its individuals. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter.

On the one hand, governments can play a major role when it comes to people’s diets and health. In other words, health is more dependent on factors that the government can control. For example, governments can impose heavier taxes on fast food and energy drinks, thus leading to a financial bottleneck for the customer. Furthermore, governments can mandate and implement strong nutritional standards for foods and beverages available in government-run or regulated supermarkets and stores. This will ensure the selling of healthier and more organic food items.

On the other hand, the high prevalence of ailments and health complications among the population is a direct consequence of excess sugar consumption. To exemplify this, the incidence rate of diseases including obesity, diabetes and hypertension is increasing at an alarming rate among people with unhealthy eating habits. Therefore, it is an individual’s duty to maintain a healthy body and take precautions by adopting a vigorous lifestyle that promotes a positive body mass index. Moreover, adults need to instill the importance of health management among young children in order to equip them with long-term health consciousness. For instance, families that follow a healthy regime and fitness routine cultivate these beneficial habits in their offspring.

In my opinion, it is the public’s duty to be in charge of their own diet and restrict their sugar intake. No one can take care of a person’s health better than themselves as individuals know their own body requirements better.

In conclusion, although governments can take initiative to guide people into healthier regimes, I believe it is an individual’s responsibility to restrict themselves from the consumption of refined sugars.