Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement Give reasons for your answe

cIt is widely argued about the money government spend on athletes for the Olympics training. Some people think that athletes represent their country's status, so the government should support them. However, others think that the Government should spend on money on public health.

When an athlete participates in Olympics, he is not fighting for himself, he is fighting for the country. It is that country's status he is representing. Winning a medal in the Olympics is an achievement for the country. Everyone around the world appreciates the country for their performance. So money spent on athletes is not just for a few people, it is for that country's stature and the sports. Moreover, it helps the talented athlete's dream of getting a medal in the Olympics. They have done a lot of hard work to reach that position. Furthermore, it encourages the youth to build their talents. Athletes hold the nation's prestige in front of the world, the money spent on them is not a squander.

However, the government should spend more money on the welfare of society. Public health is more important than the Olympics. There is no use of an Olympic medal if the citizens are deprived of necessities. The Government has to take care of the issues like poverty, childbirth by providing food and jobs. They should create programs to encourage people to stay active and healthy, especially children. Spend more money on the physical training section in schools and provide them with healthy food. If people are healthy, it is likely to have more talents in the country. Then the government don't need to spend time and money in finding talents for the Olympics. Moreover, the workforce would become stronger because of this and the economy will boom. Eventually, this will improve the sports field of that nation. a

In my view, the money spent on athletes is not waste, but the Government should spend the same amount on encouraging public health.