Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or
disagree?
A leader is a person who leads and inspires a group of people, an organization or a country. There are
several qualities a good leader must have, and intelligence is just one of those virtues. I disagree that the
most essential quality to be a good leader is for him/her to have intellect. There are a myriad of reasons
that support my view.
The first and foremost reason why I believe that intelligence is not the most important quality needed by
a good leader is because any single trait is not enough to be a good leader. It has to be a blend of many
traits. Of course, intelligence is needed to be good at any work, in any field. We need to have good
knowledge and awareness for any work we specialize in. But, intelligence alone cannot make any person a
good leader. For instance, an analyst in any field has an immense knowledge about his field of work and
can work very well with data to improve processes, however, all the analysts cannot become leaders.
To further add to it, there are many other characteristics that make someone a front-runner, whom
others follow and respect. Some abilities like good interpersonal skills, communication and oratorical skills
are essential, as it is only through these abilities that a leader can inspire, motivate and encourage his/her
team or followers on the path of success or progress. In addition, it is often said that integrity and
optimism are the foundation of a good leader. People seek honesty, integrity and positivity in leaders, be
it a politician, a team manager or a project lead. If any of these attributes are missing in a person, he/she
cannot be an effective leader. A very good example of such a leader is Late Dr. Abdul Kalam, who was not
only a genius in his field of work, but also a very good orator, he was honest and inspires the youth of
India, even after his demise.
There are many more skills that make a leader lead effectively. One more important skill is to be able to
identify the strengths and weaknesses in the team members. By doing this very good results can be
achieved by the appropriate assignment of work to the team members, as per their caliber. So, even if a
person is not very intelligent himself, but has the ability to recognise the intelligence of others, he can be
a good leader. Another important characteristic of a good leader is that he/she should be a visionary. A
leader should be able to envision the best way to achieve the goal and how to make it work effectually for
many years to come.
To conclude, it can be reiterated that intelligence alone cannot be deemed as the most important
attribute of a good leader. It is an amalgamation of several characteristics that make and define a virtuous
and respectable leader.