Intelligent machines such as robots are widely applied to take the place of human beings. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is widely true that robotic machines have been substituting humans in some industries in recent years. This tendency brings both beneficial and detrimental impacts, which will be discussed as follows.

Obviously, intelligent machines liberate human workforce. First, productivity in doing repetitive and physically demanding jobs is significantly improved by applying robotic or automatic systems. Also, they alter workers to conduct highly dangerous tasks like investigating unknown seabeds, working in radioactive environments and exploring space. Second, intelligent systems allow remote monitoring and control, meaning that less manual labors are required and teleworking could be applied. Third, some highly precise tasks can only be smoothly carried out with support from robots. Robot-assisted brain surgeries in some highly complicated cases epitomize this idea.

However, some looming consequences are brought about by the replacement of intelligent machines for human roles. The first apparent one is unemployment. These days, the growing presence of robots in factories gradually take over human jobs. After a short period of system testing, wherever robotic systems are deployed, they basically replace humans there. It is also worth noting that social unrest and some relevant issues like committing suicide and crime can boom when the unemployment rate rises to a certain level. The second impact is the rising pressures on employees. They have to not only strive for being more productive but also undergo extra intensive training to either co-work with or operate newly installed advanced systems at the workplace; otherwise, they become jobless. Those strains eventually cause physical and mental fatigue.

To sum up, while intelligent machines offer us numerous benefits in terms of productivity improvement, they result in an increasingly competitive labor market.