Should we ban plastic bags?

Many governments have enacted policies for embarking on fighting plastic bags pollution, which has recently sparked a host of people to embrace the idea of banning plastic bags. However, I firmly believe plastic bags themselves are not problematic and the prohibition of using them actually brings more harms than benefits.

Plastic bags use is often condemned to result in negative impacts on human health and environment; in fact, the culprit is human ourselves. Firstly, it is apparent that plastic bags do not pose any grave danger if being properly collected and recycled. Our overconsumption along with the habit of littering is the key factor that deteriorates our habitats. Secondly, plastic bags pollution is also rooted in the poor management of governments. Legal systems are not sufficiently efficient to curb plastic production companies from being only profit-oriented. Governments neglect campaigns to promote green use as well. Thirdly, the annual spending of governments does not allocate adequate financial aid for collecting and recycling waste from plastic bags.

Equally important, banning the use of poly bags actually puts undue burdens on the economy. It is obvious that at the moment there is no economical alternative to plastic bags; paper bags are normally several times more expensive and cloth ones are even more than. Shoppers will eventually have to suffer this inconvenience. In addition, the approval of plastic bags ban means layoffs, then a number of manufacturers have to change their business model and governments have to re-allocate employees in the plastic manufacturing sector to another one, which is not feasible and unable to complete over a short time. The last argument to notice that focusing on finding eco-friendly alternatives to plastic bags will need more subsidies than doing researches on them, which have been familiar and deeply investigated by scientists for years.

To sum up, it is not fair to blame and single out plastic bags as the cause of environmental degradation and habitat destruction. Without stopping human behavior of littering and considering the cost of plastic bags replacement, the prohibition of plastic bags just seems plausible on the surface.