International sporting events make an important contribution to internal peace. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, many hold the view that global sporting competitions are beneficial to world peace. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that it may be useless and even detrimental to international peace. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that worldwide sporting events can cultivate a good relationship between different nations. This is because these activities can provide national delegations from all over the world with a golden opportunity to communicate with each other, thus promoting the understanding of each other. In addition, international sports games can help win respect from other countries, since the games also offer players from various countries a platform to show their talents in some kind of sports. For examples, runners from Jamaica can surprise other participants through their fast speed in the 100 meters race and receive numerous praise from them, which will definitely benefit the future relationship between each other.

On the other hand, nevertheless, the international sports may harm the world peace. This is because some games will be competitive and in order to win the first prize players who represent their own country may exert violent behavior on others, which may lead to conflicts between nations and affect negatively their future harmony. For examples, it is not uncommon to see that football fans with two distinct nationalities fight against each other after one team beats the other in the World Cup.

To summarise, there is no doubt that international sporting events lead to better understanding between countries and help win respect. At the same time, nonetheless, violent conflicts brought by them are not to be neglected. In the final analysis, one can only conclude that gathering nations to play sports can indeed contribute to world peace.