International tourism is now the world’s largest industry .Unfortunately, this creates tension rather than understanding culture of other people. Do what extent do you agree or disagree?

International tourism as the biggest industry in the world right now creates tension rather than introduce culture of other people. This phenomenon is caused by industry of tourism that only focus to get much profits and there is no involvement of local society in the international tourism policy.

In this era, tourism exists as an important part of modern society, it always gives interesting opportunity to visit beautiful places in rural area for citizen in the big cities. It is not only about special offer, the price is also affordable so there will be many demands to apply the offer. This strategy is not accompanied with whole explaining about local culture, it is clear will happen tension between foreigners and local people. For example, the case ever happened in Kajang, one of tribe in South Sulawesi province, at the time foreigners denied rules of Kajang tribe by did not wear black outfit when into holy site, the place of ancestors. This triggered conflict between local people and tourists with staff of tourism ministry.

Participation of local people in design some rules about tourism did not get much portion. Tourism policies were usually only focus on how to advertise local tourism in order to increase the number of tourists. Local society should be involved because the regulations of tourism will get details information about local culture, so the problems about tourism can be solved. Evidently, the government of Indonesia tried to consult with local culture like Balinese and Baduy tribe, one of tribe in Banten province to make tourism policy for 2018. This policy contributed to incline the number of tourist in Indonesia from 500 thousand tourists in 2015 to 2 million tourists in 2020. Besides that, positive impact of the regulation is environment and culture are preserved.

In conclusion, negative effect of international tourism is tension with local society. This happens due to this industry focus to get profits and there is no contribution of the society. If it is possible, these have to be considered.