International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited.Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

A significantly increasing number of people across the globe are choosing oversea places as their holiday destinations, boosting international tourism at a past pace. While I admit that tourism may have negative influences on visitors and the host countries, I believe the benefits it brings to both parties eclipse those drawbacks.

In my opinion, attracting foreign tourists is a good way for a nation to develop its economy and promote its culture while visiting other countries is rewarding experiences to individual tourists. One obvious benefit that a nation gains from international travel is that foreign tourists spend money buying their services and products, which helps local businesses thrive and creates jobs for local residents. Also, when tourists come and visit the country, it is the best opportunity to introduce them the beauty of traditional values and customs, which they would otherwise miss and may recommend to their friends and families later. Meanwhile, on the individual level, trips to foreign lands enrich visitors’ knowledge and experience. Not only do they gain a more profound understanding of other cultures but they also acquire a more open outlook on the world and have more tolerance to people. It means their own mind and soul have been expanded and filled with more positive energy.

Although it is true that there are issues arising from international tourism, I believe they can be handled so that we can take advantage of international travel. The biggest concern is environmental damage that the host countries may suffer. The fast-paced development of tourism may result in an enormous amount of waste disposed of by tourists and tourism services that is not treated properly. To illustrate, several popular beaches in Vietnam such as Vung Tau, Do Son have been contaminated by rubbish littered by tourists and fuel spilled by numerous boats giving visitors tours around islands. In addition, young people in the host countries may be influenced by lifestyles brought by foreign tourists, which puts traditional values at risk. However, governments can tackle these issues with strict measures regarding waste treatment and campaigns to raise people’s awareness of preserving cultural values.

In conclusion, international tourism has more advantages than disadvantages and if necessary actions are done, visitors and the countries visited can gain equal benefits from it.