More and more young people from wealthy nations are doing unpaid work in poorer nations. What are the reasons and who benefits more from this: the communities or young people?

An increasing number of youngsters from developed countries are taking part in voluntary work to help people in underpriviledged areas overseas. There are several reasons for this trend and I personally believe young people’s charitable work is beneficial to both the recipients and themselves.

The trend of participating in unpaid work for a short time in less developed nations results from young generations’ sense of global citizenship and need to explore themselves. Firstly, globalization has been having significant effects on people’s perception of the world, especially young people’s in developed countries, where they are taught about the importance of a united world and understanding of other cultures. Thus, they desire to go to places, get to know people in new lands and involve themselves in improving those communities. As a citizen of the globe, they want to make contributions to the development of poorer nations. Besides, such voluntary work gives young people opportunities to understand more about their own capabilities and passion so that they can make wiser choices of major of studies or future career. For example, some youngsters can learn that they prefer educational professions or some may discover their interest in construction.

In my opinion, young people’s engagement in unpaid work in developing countries brings advantages to both the communities and themselves. Obviously, the communities where young people offer voluntary work will enjoy their visible contributions such as the construction of bridges, schools and the completion of training courses. Also, the presence of young volunteers who are full of positive energy will inspire the member of the communities with hopes and expectations of better future. Meanwhile, taking short trips to do charitable services provides volunteers with knowledge and social skills that they would not otherwise learn in the academic environment, putting them at an advantage when applying for college courses or jobs in the future.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, volunteering to work in less developed countries has become a trend among youth in affluent nations, which, I believe, equally benefits the communities and volunteers.