International travel has many advantages to both travellers and the country that they visited. Do Advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the growth of global tourism has brought a number of benefits to to tourists and the host country. While there are strong arguments that international travel also results in several consequences, I believe that the drawbacks are outweighed by the merits of this trend.

On the one hand, there are certain damages which global travel can inflict on tourists and the nation. In terms of travellers, there are chances that they are rip off by local seller when shopping at a market. These sellers often mark up the price to double or triple the original one to take advantage of the wealthy customers. Therefore, foreigners often spend abundant but unnecessary expenditure when travelling an unfamiliar country. When it comes to the host nation, global tourisms cause some concerns in certain aspects such as environment and tradition. It is undeniable that there are some tourists who are not aware of their responsibility of keeping the environment hygienic. Therefore, the authorities have to spend a large amount of money on cleaning some tourist attractions after holidays. Moreover, some travellers are not familiar to the traditional customs and practices in the host country and unintentionally make mistakes in following the culture of that country. For example, in Vietnam, it is inapproriate to wear informal clothes at some spiritual sites such as temples or pagodas; however, sometimes, we can catch sight of foreigners wearing inapproriate clothes to these places due to their unawareness, which raise the waves of indignation in the local.

On the other hand, despite some consequences, we should not forget the indispensable role the international travel industry plays in the process of obtaining new knowledge of the travellers and nation’s economy. For a start, global tourism gives tourists a chance to broaden their horizons by travelling to another country and acquire their culture. Moreover, international travel provides travellers with a subjective view about the host nation. For example, in the past, some foreigners see Vietnam as a backward and impoverished country. However, some people who have travelled to Vietnam have a different view, they consider Vietnam as a developing countries with 3 metropolises, several industrial regions and technology applications have appeared in this country. Another point to consider is that tourism, especially global tourism, accounts for a large amount of nation’s profits, hence the development in other industries. Additionally, thanks to international travel, the Vietnam has been recognized in some aspects. Without global travel, no one would know Ha Long Bay or Trang An Complex Landscape to make it the World Heritage.

In conclusion, despite the obvious disadvantages of international travel, the benefits it brings to the travellers themselves and the host country is undeniable and much greater than the drawbacks.