International travel has many advantages for both travelers and the country visited. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, international travel has become accessible to all people around the world. While there are environmental issues regarding this trend, I believe the advantages for both visitors and destination countries can outweigh the drawbacks.

It is undeniable that international tourism can bring about several drawbacks and the major one is environmental problems. The large amount of plastic trash is a global concern that every country is facing and tourism is one factor that contributes tons of plastic annually. As a result, nature is highly polluted by tourism activities, not to mention that it is extremely challenging for governments to issue penalties or any kinds of laws on tourists given the fact that they are foreigners. Having said that, the positive effects of tourism can completely surpass its disadvantages. Environmental issues can be easily addressed with the help of money whereas tourism is a highly lucrative sector. Especially in developing countries, the huge sum of money that developed countries’ visitors spend on traveling to these nations can be a massive boost to their economies. Therefore, they have more money to invest in tackling environment-related issues.

Another advantage of international tourism is that it helps tourists in better understanding the culture of a country. Being able to travel to other countries is beneficial for people since a real experience of the culture will provide tourists’ a deeper insight into the traditions, customs and beliefs of the visited country, which a book or a movie cannot fulfill. In addition to that, it also helps a country’s standing on the global stage in terms of political influence as that country is widely known around the world with their tourism activities. For example, Sweden is well-known for its fantastic traveling experience, consequently, many countries globally wish to cooperate with Sweden in terms of many fields such as culture promotion.

In conclusion, although there may indeed be some environmental concerns regarding letting tourists to other nations, I believe the rewards including economic growth for the visited countries and knowledge acquisition for visitors can totally outcast its negative effects.