International travel makes people prejudiced rather than broad-minded. What are its causes and what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

The booming of international tourism has spawned a host of boons in our lives. It is no exaggeration that the economy of a large amount of regions has been significantly revolutionized by tourism industry. Yet when it comes to whether this burgeoning industry is a blessing or a curse in terms of cultural communication. The incomprehensive and unbalanced perspectives of the tourists to other countries have been criticized as a violation of the original intention to broaden minds. To elaborate the causes of this existing predicament, there are three determining elements.

First and foremost, the limiting travelling modes confine the comprehension to the destinations. A majority of travellers have neither enough time nor financial support to deliberately tour another country. Hence this population tends to choose a cost-saving package from a travel agent. However, the routines have normally been fixed which allow only certain length of stay and limiting scenic sites. That is to say, even though those tourists have paid for an insight understanding to other cultures, they have been shown partial aspects of them.

Secondly, international tourism may also lead to prejudices between the tourists and residents in tour destinations. To begin with, the majority of international tourists on guided tours are not cultivated the concept to preview the customs and taboos of the visited countries before their trips. Their desire to explore the destination such as indigenous costumes and accessories worn by the natives may offend local people. In addition, the influx of tourists may be an intrusion upon the lives of many local inhabitants.

Thirdly, international backpackers can be very vulnerable to cheating, mugging or even terrorist attacks due to their unfamiliarity with the destination spots which finally contributes to the unbalanced views upon those countries. As for some developing countries, tourism has become the pillar industry with a great number of local citizens living their lives on tourism related work. Apart from those disciplined businessmen, the speculated ones may damage the impression of the country which eventually results in an incomprehensive perspective of the tourists.

To tackle this existing predicament, I believe that there are three advancements could be done. Firstly, tourists should be encouraged to travel in diversified methods. The traditional travel agencies should offer various and personalized plans to attract customers with specific requirements. Next, it is of great importance for tourists to take the initiative to get to know the customs of the destination. Before the journey, a well preparation about the culture and conventions is a beneficial way to avoid misunderstanding between tourists and the indigenous people. Last but not least, local governments should take further actions against the tourism related criminals which will definitely promise a sustainable tourism industry development.

In the final analysis, I concede that international tourism produces problems for different nations to understand their common humanity. However, with mutual sympathy and respect and necessary actions being taken, a culturally-sensitive sustainable tourism and a better understanding about other nations will be finally achieved.