It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful Architects should not worry about producing building as a work of art

Nowadays, people argue that architects should attach more importance to the use and safety of constructions. Besides, it is pointless to design and construct such a beautiful one. I disagree with this opinion, and I believe that purpose serving is the basis of architecture, but the outside appearance of buildings meets the needs of architects and people in favor of it.

On the one hand, admittedly, I believe that there could be two reasons why some people focus on the underlying agenda. Firstly, it is evident that how to construct a build should be based on the functional approach. In other words, if the building structure could reach the requirements of comfort for residents, it is not likely to be productive. At the same time, taking sufficient safety measures during construction, another critical aspect required to accomplish the primary objective, are much more important than outlooks since individual life first, for instance, the Chinese government has established the strict housing safety standards, avoiding events such as house collapse.

On the other hand, however, I believe that the beautiful appearance of buildings shows the architects’ design style which is different among these designers. What encourages them to become an outstanding one is not only the purpose of meeting the basic requirements and ensuring the people’s security but also the pursuit of architectural beauty. During their further study, what they learn more is not how to build an original building, but to appreciate the famous buildings and then developing their style. Also, the sameness of architectures makes people feel bored. Plenty of buildings in the world are famous for their architectural style. Without these buildings, people would lose the chance to appreciate their beauty in various ways.

In conclusion, while it is crucial for building constructor to establish buildings considering function and security, I do not believe a variety of style belonging to architects should be abandoned.