The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialize.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the internet can separate them and push individuals to avoid social interaction. Although it is true that the internet brings drawbacks under certain circumstances, I would argue that people also keep in touch with each other wherever thanks to the internet.

There are many reasons why the internet can interfere with people’s interaction. Firstly, the internet allows people to easily gain access with each other, which would lead to an unnecessary face-to-face conservations. Hence, this kind of habit will cause them to lose interpersonal skills. Secondly, social media has brought them far away from each other. In fact, due to the convenience of the internet, some teenagers would prefer to chat through some social platforms rather than hang out to meet face-to-face, such as: chatting on Facebook or Twitter. This activity can not convey people’s emotions and facial expressions, which could result in arising conflicts and misunderstandings.

Nevertheless, I believe that the Internet enables us to maintain contact with anyone regardless of their locations. To begin with, due to a tendency of updating status on social networks, people can follow activities of anybody that they want, which would mean that they can have interactions without meeting. If the internet does not strongly develop, we would lose contact with acquaintances and relatives living faraway, such as: abroad students. Furthermore, owing to the widespread presence of the internet, people do not waste too much of their time on information exchange no matter where they are. For example, we just need about 30 seconds to mail, but we have to wait more than 30 days for letters to be sent in the past.

In conclusion, while the internet can adversely affect individuals, I am of the opinion that it is a positive way to associate with people’s relationships.