the internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past what re he advantages and disadvantages of this

The ways of communication of humans have undergone through significant changes in the past couple of decades. We have surpassed the traditional communication methods, that involved physical interaction and writing and we have adjusted to a lifestyle depending on virtual speed through the internet. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this and I firmly believe that present and past communication methods can coexist.

The commonly discussed advantages of communicating through the internet are speed and cost efficiency. With increasingly busy lifestyles, it is a challenge to reserve time to go visit and socialise with people. Therefore, people tend to choose as easy way to communicate with them through social media applications such as Instagram, Messenger, and Snapchat. These apps do not have a waiting time and can directly deliver the relevant message to the receiver. It can also surpass geographical locations; it can make us feel like connected more than ever. Another advantage of communication through modern measures is that it is very cost effective compared to traditional methods. In the past it would cost a fair amount to send a letter or a telegraph, while we can send an email for free in the present.

However, despite the convenience of modern-day technology, there are many associated disadvantages to the physical and mental aspects of one’s health. Communicating through social media can lead into a disconnection with reality as well as getting cyber bullied, which would never be a consequence of using traditional methods. It can increase the risk of mental health illnesses such as depression, anxiety, and stress. Due to only virtual interactions unlike in the past, people tend to lose their ability to interact with each other in real life leading to complications such as social anxiety. The internet can also reduce one’s physical activity, which can lead to the increase risk of several fatal chronic conditions as well as insomnia hindering their daily lifestyle.

The world of communication is ever evolving with the development of technology. I believe that traditional and present communication technologies can work hand in hand. However it is vital to keep in mind that balance is necessary.