Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely-held view among people about whether human beings can comprehend how others live by utilizing the use of internet technology rather than travelling abroad. While there has been a growing body in favor of technological advancement that can act as a stimulus to achieve that idea, I disagree with this view for several reasons.

Firstly, it is undoubtedly true that the proliferation of technological advancement combined with the widespread use of the internet provides people an opportunity to get a wealth of information regarding other oversea countries with just a click of a button on their devices, but that is not always the exact case. For instance, a majority of contents providing travelling reviews are reported to be exaggerated, or even in the worse scenario, containing fake materials. This is due to the fact that many influencers and content creators tend to act as sensational journalists to achieve and maintain high audience ratings, even if this action is against the moral and ethical codes from a societal level. This would lead to many audiences who are swayed by those splendid words immediately believing what they have read without recertifying and ending up being tricked.

Secondly, when it comes to travelling to other countries, tourists have a tendency to gather in the touristy areas ranging from luxurious hotels to touristy attractions. Even though this phenomenon can contribute to stimulating those areas’ socioeconomic progression, those experiences will not reflect the actual daily life of inhabitants. Furthermore, I believe that only when people devote their time to experience by themselves, they will have a chance to acquire myths, rituals, traditional activities and historical heritages from their own point of views, exploring the cultural uniqueness which differs from each person’s background. This helps to broaden their horizons, allowing them to getting a multi-dimensional outlook on life, which will act as a precursor to comprehensive personal development.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that while internet technology can bring some beneficial impacts to some extent, I am strongly of the opinion that using that cannot replace the actual experience of travelling.