Some people think that violent films and video games have negative effects on people and should be banned. Others think that they are just relaxation sources. Discuss both sides and give opinion

There is a widely-held view among people about whether violence in films and video games should be banned due to many detrimental influences of that on people. While there has been a growing body in favor of those are just a method to relax, I am of the opinion that game sets or movies which promote violence must be controlled.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly true that violent games and movies can decrease the level of participants’ stress, which psychologically allows people to temporarily get away with all the hustle and bustle in daily life. For instance, in a mental-health examination of 100 adults, the results showed that people who hold all the pressures had a tendency to build them up into negative emotions. Those feelings will gradually affect their personality, which turns into several aggressive behaviors. Furthermore, if this situation persists in the long term, it will be a high chance of them being prone to serious mental health problems, acting as a precursor to life-threatening illness.

On the other hand, tons of brutal serials and video games contained can be quickly accessed on public channels without any limit on the players’ age. This grants youngsters opportunities to be exposed from an early age when they lack the knowledge to differentiate whether those behaviors are against moral and ethical codes or not. That very young children and teenagers will become desensitized to violence and potentially establish a pattern of abnormal behavior in extreme cases. Once violence becomes normalized in their psyche, they will lose the sense of seeing those gratuitous behaviors as a crime, probably even imitates those bad actions such as murder, abuse, bullying, and so on. This is reported to hold accountable for a significant increase in the number of juvenile delinquencies, which poses a considerable threat to society.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that even though violent scenes in movies or games can be regarded as a measure to reduce stress, it would be better from the societal level to some extent if some age restriction policies were adopted.