Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Thanks to the proliferation of Internet innovation, there has existed a school of thought where people can acquire understandings of exotic aspects of culture around the world without transnational travel. I fully counter this point of view.

On the one hand, proponents of this have reasons to claim that virtual traveling also offers many benefits. To start with, the availability of tourist websites and travel blogs makes the web-users easily learn how foreign lead their life via Internet-connected mobile devices such as quality pictures, videos about foreign cultures, or bloggers’ experiences and views. Besides, due to the costly expense of traveling abroad, modest-income people could gain profound insights into overseas life without hands-on experiences by watching tons of images or reading interesting articles on the Internet.

On the other hand, I believe that the best way to have an understanding of other nations is to set your foot on it. Firstly, actual experiences are crucial for people to gain a deeper understanding of culture and provide them a more holistic view of distinct lifestyles and customs. For instance, a person cannot experience the festive atmosphere of a carnival or festival through pictures or videos. Secondly, information which is posted on blogs or Internet websites generally glamour because of advertising purposes, while the practical experiences would help people avoid falsely assume about the dark sides of a culture ranging from racism, gender discrimination to wealth gap,...etc.