Interview forms are the basic selection criteria for the most large companies However some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is true that personal interviews are used by all employers and companies for selecting their staff. Others, however, argue that an interview is not a reliable method of choosing an employee; I personally agree with this opinion, there are better methods to select an ideal candidate.

On the one hand, people believe that an interview is one of the most important steps in the staff selection procedure, because it connects both the employers as well as job seekers. It assists employers in selecting the right person for the right job. It also helps job seekers to present their job skills and acquire a desired position on merit. In an interview, the interviewer can see and talk to the candidates, hence, he can make a correct decision, whether to select or reject the candidate. As a result, a personal interview is the most basic of selecting the right person for the right post.

On the other hand, I personally believe that personal job interview is an ineffective predictor because recruiters and hiring managers often judge candidates based on subjective, rather than job-related criteria. Thus, there are numerous alternative better methods in selecting a good candidate should be applied. First, recruiters should hold written job knowledge tests to see a candidate’s real abilities. Job knowledge tests allow employers to get a wider picture of a person’s role specific expertise. A job sample test is a great way for candidates to prove, beyond certainty, their ability to perform well on the job. In addition, another method is group discussion, which gives the candidates a chance to show their skills such as initiation, communication, and leadership; it also gives the employer an opportunity to assess and observe candidates' behaviour in action.

In conclusion, although interview forms play a vital role in a hiring process, I argue that job knowledge exams and group discussion are better methods in the selection of a right candidate.