Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems Some people say they should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited because they are one of the major pollutants of both land and water around the world. However, in my opinion, the replacement of plastic bags also carry significant environmental risk, thus, plastic bags should not be banned.

On the one hand, the reason that plastic bags should be banned in the near future is because they do not biodegrade and continue to pollute the environment for hundred of years after being discarded. An insignificant percentage of people may reuse or recycle plastic bags, but most ultimately litter or throw them in the trash. If they are thrown in the trash, plastic bags will wind up in the ever increasing number of landfills and contribute to soil pollution. The one that simply tossed in the street clog drains in the cities and eventually found their way to the sea and entangled marine life. As a result, the only way to prevent throw away plastic, such as plastic shopping bags, from seriously and irreversibly damaging our planet is to prohibit it.

On the other hand, despite the advantages of banning plastic bags, some of the alternatives are worse than the original problem. First, most people who advocate banning plastic bags suggest paper bags, which are biodegradable, or reusable bags that are typically made from cotton or plastic. Both of these replacements have flaws. For example, paper bags require us to continue clearing forests and also carry a large carbon footprint. In addition, independent studies showed that the production of cotton and reusable plastic cause more harm to the environment than disposable plastic bags. Coupled with the fact that reusable bags are more difficult to recycle, their overall effect on the environment is worse.

In conclusion, I do not think overly simplistic restrictions on plastic bags would have the desired positive effect. Rather than thoughtlessly banning them, policy makers should come up with a policy that balances the materials we use for bags in order to produce an overall positive impact on the environment.