Investment in local amenities such as leisure centres is the best way for the government to foster a good community spirit

Improving public mental health has been a popular topic in many countries’ authorities recently. It is debated that the best approach to this would be investing in local amenities including amusement centres. I tend to disagree with this statement for several reasons presented accordingly.

On the one hand, some people argue that to foster a good community spirit, it is best for the government to spend more on leisure complexes. This could be done by constructing theme parks, libraries, cinemas, theatres, museums, galleries, swimming pools, fitness rooms... and allowing affordable to free access for the residents. This approach seems to be effective since it could enable poor people to have places to enjoy and relax, thus improving their mental well-being. In addition, these leisure centres could bring people together. By going to a gym or a swimming pool, people can meet and make new friends, giving them the opportunities to improve their social circle.

Meanwhile, I believe that to maintain a great social spirit, it is more efficient to invest in other fields such as education and healthcare. Turning to the root of the problem, citizens could not be happy if they still have to cope with living expenses and sickness. Hence, the government should improve the education system to ensure that the vast majority of their residents have a degree, which could offer them a well-paid job, as well as provide free healthcare services so that people can have fewer worries about their health problems.

To conclude, although spending money on developing amenities might be worthwhile regarding its wide range of advantages, from my perspective, concentrating on education and healthcare would be a more feasible approach to foster a good community spirit. This is because entertainment is essential, but not as vital as literacy and medical care to be the top priority of the authorities.