Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there

In the last few decades, an increasing number of highways have been developed in several countries. It is widely observed that despite the fact that they can be used for covering long distances quickly, there could be numerous drawbacks involved. In this essay, some issues and measures for highways will be discussed at length.

Among the most prominent problems of travelling on motorways is that it could be considered hazardous, especially during bad weather. This is because the speed of all vehicles running on highways is always high, thus more likely to cause fatal accidents than on normal roads. More dangerously, whenever it is foggy, windy, rainy or stormy, driving at such speed may lead to severe risks even to the most skilful drivers. To tackle this, the government should regulate a lower maximum speed for transport when travelling on motorways, as well as develop several instructions to warn people of the weather or sections requiring drivers to slow down.

Another foreseeable drawback of highways is that constructing them may negatively affect the environment. Indeed, as motorways usually account for large areas, many trees are cut down to give room for them. This may result in numerous environmental problems including animal losing their habitats and deforestation occurring more frequently, which may, in turn, reduce the air quality. As a result, it is suggested that the authorities should only build this type of road in areas with less forest area, by that minimising the impact on the ecology system.

To summarise, although it is no doubt that highways are relatively useful, they might also exert detrimental effects on both people and the environment. As a result, local government should have the appropriate methods to address the issues of motorways to ensure that these roads are used effectively and efficiently.