It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this tendency?

These days, having a break before attending university gains in popularity among high school graduates. This phenomenon may present economic and academic difficulties, however, it illuminates crucial aspects of emotional and practical developments.

Undeniably, taking a gap year has several demerits. To commence with, the break might entail countless financial risks. For example, in Vietnamese high schools’ curriculum, disciplines that help students manage their spending and saving are considered not as important as Maths or Literature. Hence, the likelihood is that costs will quickly mount up because a few newcomers do not formulate plans properly. Additionally, the delay in academic progress can cause students to lose their momentum completely. In fact, when someone has a year-long break with something for a while, it will probably be neglected. As a result, their transition back into their studies is a difficult one.

Despite the negativity mentioned before, it is also true that these drawbacks are overshadowed by the positive effects in some ways. A year off is an ideal opportunity for students to reflect on what they are aiming for. This means they could spend their time pursuing hobbies and interests which are often neglected in favor of studying. To illustrate, people are able to join a volunteer gap year program organized by numerous voluntary associations such as Gapforce and IVHQ. Furthermore, a break will push young students beyond their comfort zones to meet new people, thereby stretching and learning new things. Thus, they can gain a better sense of self and a broader perspective. Lastly, having a one-year off is a great way for undergraduates to boost résumés or explore career options through valuable experience in which they engaged.

In conclusion, taking a year off may be encouraged to broaden younger generations’ horizons albeit its downsides. A notion about this should be taken into consideration to make the right decision and mitigate potential risks.