It is better for college students to live in schools than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

When they attend tertiary school, youngsters face the dilemma of whether to live on-campus or stay with their parents. While there are some benefits to stay at home with parents, I believe that living away from home would be a better option.

There are several reasons why teenagers opt for living with parents during college. Living at home could help students to cut down on various costs such as housing, food or utilities, which are main obstacles that deter learners from concentrating on their study. If students had to struggle with financial problems, they might find it difficult to pay full attention to learning. Another reason is that people would be less distracted by the surroundings when studying at home because they do not have to share the space with other peers, which in turn may be helpful to promote their academic performance.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that it would be more beneficial for university students to move out of home. Firstly, living in close proximity to campus allows students to make the most of their study and leisure time. This option not only saves students’ time commuting to class but also enables them to easily access to educational facilities such as library, labs or sports center. Secondly, campus life offers youngsters opportunities to grow up and become more self-reliant. It is inevitable that, in contrast to those who stay with parents, students who live away from parents will have to confront with a great number of problems on their own such as managing personal budgets, handling interpersonal conflict or taking care of their health. Dealing with such circumstances would equip students with corresponding skills that are necessary for them to secure a job and successful career after graduation.

For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are likely to be more successful in their future life if they live independently from parents soon.