It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that providing tertiary education for a large percentage of youngsters is not only infeasible but also ineffective. Personally, I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is impossible to provide higher education for almost all high school-leavers. Firstly, in order to meet the demand for education for such a huge number of students, the governments must allocate an enormous amount of state budgets for educational facilities and infrastructure, which instead could be used to invest in other worthier social concerns such as environment, healthcare or public transportation. Secondly, personal financial difficulties may prevent the young from entering college. That is, tuition fee for tertiary school in several countries is too prohibitive for young people and their families to afford.

On the other hand, establishing too many universities for the majority of youngsters would not bring benefits to the country. Too many people attending universities would lead to redundancy in intellectual workforce and lack of manual labor at the same time, which in turn could result in imbalance in labor market in the long run. Another argument is that the excessive number of university graduates could also lead to the increase of unemployment rate in highly-skilled fields such as STEM. This is because of the proven fact that having more people with degrees does not, in its own, create more degree-level jobs, and that the increase in the number of applicants can do nothing but narrow the chance to secure a job. For example, the UK, which has the second highest rate of graduates in Euro, has 60 percent of graduates ended up in non-degree jobs including work at call centers, bars or coffee shops.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that the idea of providing tertiary school for too many young people would be both impracticable and ineffective.