It is easier and more affordable for people to visit/travel to other nations. Is this positive/negative development?

In recent decades, international tourism has significantly developed thanks to globalization, and people can easily travel to foreign countries at a reasonable cost. Although some people argue visiting other countries without any obstacles and challenges will lead to many potential problems, the opposite is true.

It is clear that going abroad with fewer difficulties can bring a myriad of benefits to travelers. First, since visitors can afford to pay for their international trips, this allows them to explore, learn, and experience more extraordinary things, helping them feel more exhilarated and broaden their knowledge as well. For example, many people, especially thrill-seekers can travel to the South Pole, which is different from where they are living because this is the coldest place on the Earth with endangered species such as polar bears and penguins. Second, if there are more and more people visiting other nations, the tourism industry will earn huge profits from the demand for accommodations and hospitality services from these visitors. This ensures governments receive huge tax revenue from this industry and spend it improving other aspects such as education and healthcare, raising citizens’ standards of living.

Nevertheless, it should be noted that there are also some downsides to this trend.

First, easily going to other countries, especially developed countries, at a low cost would encourage travelers to find possible ways to stay or even settle down in these countries where they can earn more money. For instance, without pressure from Malaysian customs inspection, poor females living in the Western corner of Vietnam can travel and work illegally in some Malaysian bars and clubs where they could increase their income without paying taxes to either the Vietnamese or Malaysian governments. Moreover, there will be an outbreak of deadly diseases from infectious viruses and bacteria in their countries as a result if they go back to their hometowns from other countries with zones of pandemics or epidemics. For example, since foreign visitors booked flights to go back to their homes after holidays in the capital of China, where coronaviruses appeared and were rampant, millions of innocent people all around the world were infected by covid-19 and died of difficulty breathing, thereby affecting the economy of many countries and taking more than two years to recover it.

In conclusion, nowadays people can afford and visit foreign countries will be a positive trend and should be encouraged now and down the road. By acknowledging the possible drawbacks of this trend, governments and the public can be more cautious in protecting themselves from potential risks when traveling to other countries.