­­It is generally acknowledged that families are now not as close as they used to be. What are the causes? What can be done to improve the situation?

It can be easily realized that families’ bonding are now less connective than they used to be in the past. This situation derives from numerous reasons and appropriate measures can be taken to tackle this.

To begin with, there are several components that result in the deficiency of connection between families’ members. To be specific, the advance in contemporary technological tools has an immense impact on every family in the whole world. In the previous decade, although some technological gadgets were invented, they were not really prevalent at that time because not all families were able to purchase fancy gadgets for themselves. So each family member could devote more time to gathering with their family than in current society. By contrast, people now tend to immerse themselves in virtual life and pay less attention to strengthen families’ bonds which finally result in the separation between families’ members. Taking my family as a typical example, in the past me and my sisters or brothers had a tendency to play a plethora of folk games together such as hide and seek, fly the kite and so on. However, since smartphones and technological stuffs became more accessible for everyone, we spend more time playing online games instead of conventional games so our connection is weakened day by day. As a result, this phenomenon is considered as an obstacle which can break the happiness of a family.

Efforts can be made by each individual in families to deal with this situation efficiently. For the youngsters, they are recommended to avoid using electronic devices which prevent them from having a conversation with their parents or relatives when they have spare time. Instead, they should spend more time gathering with their family whenever they have the chance which can narrow the gap between family members. Besides, every parent is opposed to striking up a conversation more frequently in order to reinforce the relationship between parents and sons. In addition, they had better propagate the consequence of overusing smartphones or other electronic devices that have electro-magnetic waves.

In short, the lack of connection between family members is still a complex issue that requires multiple choices to counter.