It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading for our satisfaction is proven to be more effective for development of our imagination and reading skills than watching television. I completely agree with this statement as reading books improves a person’s range of vocabulary and sharpens mind whereas watching visuals gives us less chance to imagine things.

First of all, every book contains different sentence structures, grammatical sentences along with wide range of vocabularies and complex words. This is an important step towards improving our language skills since we try to interpret and learn every sentences and words repeatedly which is not possible while watching television. Furthermore, while reading a book, we tend to visualize and make up the contents within our mind. Eventually, we sharpen our imagination skills and help ourselves learn and spell different types of words while reading.

Secondly, watching a television gives us less opportunity to imagine as well as interpret the languages and words spoken. In other word, a television shows visuals of the entire story and characters along with sound effects which ultimately make us entertained leaving no chance of imagination for us. In addition, television shows are continuously and timely broadcasted which we can’t even control or re-watch as per our need. Thus, it is almost impossible for us to re-watch or re-read for our better understanding just as reading a book. Although, a television shows visuals along with audio, we can’t have much better result from this as compared to reading books.

In conclusion, I believe reading is more better than watching television to improve our language and imagination skills. It restricts us from graphics and sounds which forces our mind to make up things together as well as to read repeatedly in order to learn wide range of vocabluaries and complex senetences.